Ohio Legislators Elect Leaders In House and Senate

Jan 31, 2023 | Advocacy

Jennifer Price
President & CEO, OEDA

The members of the Ohio General Assembly elected the leadership teams in both the House and Senate in early January.

The race for the speakership had a surprise ending when Rep. Jason Stephens (R-Kitts Hill) was elected Speaker of the House by a vote of 54-43. Rep. C. Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington) was re-elected as minority leader by a vote of 73-14. Additional leadership positions elected include:

  • Speaker Pro Tempore: Rep. Scott Oelslager (R-North Canton)
  • Assistant Minority Leader: Rep. Dontavius L. Jarrells (D-Columbus)
  • Minority Whip: Rep. Jessica D. Miranda (D-Forest Park)
  • Assistant Minority Whip: Rep. Tavia Galonski (D-Akron)

The Ohio Senate voted unanimously to re-elect Sen. Matt Huffman (R-Lima) as Senate president. Sen. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood) was unanimously elected as minority leader. Additional leadership positions unanimously elected include:

  • President Pro Tempore: Sen. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)
  • Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Rob McColley (R-Napoleon)
  • Majority Whip: Sen. Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green)
  • Assistant Minority Leader: Sen. Hearcel F. Craig (D-Columbus)
  • Minority Whip: Sen. Kent Smith (D-Euclid)
  • Assistant Minority Whip: Sen. Paula Hicks-Hudson (D-Toledo)

Geauga Growth Partnership Holds Annual Business Meeting

Geauga Growth Partnership’s (GGP) Annual Business Meeting was a wonderful success, with over 170 local business owners, government officials, and community partners in attendance. The meeting took place on Wednesday, April 12th at 7:30 am, and was filled with engaging conversations and insightful presentations. One of the highlights of the event was the discussion with Mark Schweitzer, Senior Vice President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. Attendees were able to gain valuable insights into economic trends and predictions of the business landscape.

read more